

Senate President Joseph Carter

- Be on the look-out for the annual faculty election ballot; vote for campus president, committee members for both Governance Grievance and Academic Freedom & Tenure.
- Academic units will be replacing outgoing senators in the next couple of months; please consider serving on the senate if asked.

Campus Presidents

Downtown: Mirna Lattouf
 Polytechnic: Jeff Thomas
 Tempe: Joseph Carter
 West: Barbara Tinsley

University Senate Dashboard February 2012

Senate Facts

- The Senate has 118 Members representing over 70 academic units.
- The senate constitution has been in existence for 63 years.
- In the last 2 ½ years the Senate has handled over 220 senate motions.

Guns on Campus Issue Returns Read SB 1474

> University Senate Response Senate Motion <u>2012-28</u>



University Professional Support for Non Tenure Track Faculty was APPROVED



Important Discussions

- 1. Guns on Campus
- 2. UAC Structural realignment
- 3. Retention & student success

The Arizona Board of Regents will be meeting at the ASU-Tempe campus

February 16 & 17, 2012, all meetings are open to the public

Click here for the ABOR website

Important Dates

Senate Meeting #6 Monday February 20, 2012 3:00pm
Senate Meeting #7 Monday March 26, 2012 3:00pm

Your ASU University Academic Council

Joseph Carter, Mirna Lattouf, Cristi Coursen, Craig Allen, Jeffrey Thomas, David Forsyth, Holly Huffman, Helene Ossipov, Mark Lussier, Barbara Tinsley, Connie Borror, Judy Grace (Secretary)