

President Joseph Carter UAC Report

All Senate standing committees are fully staffed. A special thanks to the committee chairs for their hard work.

- Chris Kyselka: Committee on Committees.
- Cristi Coursen: Student-Faculty **Policy Committee**
- David Forsyth: University Services and Facilities Committee
- Gary Bitter: Personnel Committee

Senate #3 will be hosted by the Downtown campus

University Senate Dashboard

October 2011

Update on SM 2012-42---Spring Break Timing Dr. Capaldi stated that changing the Spring break date for the 2011-12 school year is not possible. However, the Provost is mindful of the impact this has on faculty and students and will review options for subsequent years and report back with a decision.

Non Tenure Eligible Task Force

The Non Tenure Eligible Task Force, chaired by Holly Huffman, concluded its work and has presented recommendations to the Senate Personnel Committee.

Curriculum and Academic Programs Committee

Herberger Institute for the Design and Arts-School of Arts, Media and Engineering: Establishment of an undergraduate degree program-BA in Digital Culture.

To be Added to the Faculty and AP "Hot Topics Only" Distribution List e-mail

charles.barbee@asu.edu

Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College-Disestablishment of a graduate degree program-Doctor (EdD) in Higher Education and Postsecondary Education.

Important Discussions

- 1. University Senate and ASASU collaboration.
- Senate Motion in support of the New American University.

Important Dates

Senate Meeting #3

October 24th 2011

3 – 5 pm

Click Here for the Senate Homepage

Click Here for the Senate Calendar

Monday