## 2013-2014 Annual Report to the ASU University Faculty Senate

## Non-Tenure Track Faculty Senate Committee

Scheduled Meetings, Locations including the NTTFC 2013/2014 Committee Members

Meeting Locations-Downtown: NHI2 - Conf Room 104

Remote Teleconference sites: Polytechnic: SANCA 138, Tempe: EDC 117, West: FAB S101

The NTTFC Committee met on the following dates:

Fall 2013 – October 9, 2013, November 6, 2013,

Spring 2014- February, 19, 2014 and March 26, 2014.

Members of the NTTFC committee were: Dean Chiarelli, Chair (Downtown), Jane Legacy, Co-Chair (Tempe), Barbara Fargotstein (Downtown), Melanie Pitts (Polytechnic), Rajni Nair, (Tempe) Robert St. Louis, (West) and ASU Faculty Senate President, Thomas Schildgen

Starting in 2010 the overarching goal for NTT Task Force was to provide a mechanism whereby the contract faculty can identify and advocate for issues that specifically impact this group of colleagues. One of the major recommendations of the NTTFC Committee goals was to continue to provide a systematic way for NTT and AP faculty to have their concerns placed before the Senate.

During most of the Fall/Spring – 2013-2014, the committee was in discussions regarding the needs of the NTT and AP faculty. In early 2014, the Committee led by Co-Chairs Tom Schildgen and Jane Legacy decided the need to develop four Position Papers to present to the Senate Personnel Committee for endorsement and forwarding to the Vice Provost Barry Ritchie.

The four Position Papers: included 1) Introduction, 2) Background based on both literature review, and ASU policy, and 3) Recommendations based on both review of literature and ASU policy. In addition, the NTE Committee also took into consideration the NTE Final report and resources list that the NTE committee made in the fall of 2011 as a baseline for developing the white papers.

Topics for Position Papers for consideration included:

a. Defining the Role and Value of Non Tenured Track Faculty

Leader Authors: Robert St. Louis and Thomas Schildgen

b. Professional Development of Non Tenured Track Faculty

Lead Authors: Melanie Pitts and Rajni Nair

c. Classification of Lecturers and Clinical Professors by Academic Discipline and Tradition

Lead Authors : Dean Chiarelli and Thomas Schildgen

d. Non Tenured Track Faculty Options for Emeritus Status, the Take It or Leave It Culture at ASU

Lead Authors: Barbara Fargotstein and Thomas Schildgen

Tom Schildgen had requested that Chuck Barbee order the book that Melanie Pitts suggested that could be used in writing the position papers.

Embracing Non-Tenure Track Faculty: Changing Campuses for the New Faculty Majority Adrianna Kezar (Editor) 2012 Routledge ISBN 978-0-415-89114-1

Co-Chair Schildgen indicated that the University Senate will Order two copies of this book for the committee to use with the different position papers.

