University Senate Dashboard











Senate President Helene Ossipov

As the 2014 calendar year closes, I want to thank each faculty member and academic professional that serves on the Senate and participates in the shared governance process here at ASU. As a collective body, the Senate membership contribute an estimated 9,000+ hours of service-work annually for ASU. This commitment to both individual pursuits, and organizational advancement through shared governance, is one of the reasons ASU is a special place to work. Starting in December, the Senate will begin executing our annual service recognition program so that chairs, directors and deans are aware of the service commitment made by each of our elected members.

As the annual evaluation season draws near, I encourage you to begin dialogue with your supervisor, outlining not only your teaching and research accomplishments, but also your service, and its impact within your unit, college or school.

MOTIONS

MINUTES

VIDEOS

Shared Governance Representation

Shared governance requires collaboration through established structures and procedures between the university's administration and elected representatives of the Academic Assembly. Here is an overview of how faculty members and academic professionals are represented in the ASU Senate.

Senators: each degree granting unit at ASU is allowed Senate representation. Senators are elected for three year terms by the faculty members and/or APs within their unit.

University Academic Council (UAC): each ASU campus annually elects a campus president-elect to serve on the UAC. The elected member will serve three years total on the UAC serving as the president-elect, president and finally the past president.

Senate Committees: Senate committee members are selected for two year terms from the current pool of Senators by the Committee on Committees. Each campus is then provided the opportunity to ratify those committee member selections annually.

Faculty Grievance Committees: faculty members nominate other faculty members for these positions annually. The Committee on Committee and the Senate secretary then execute a vote of all faculty members to determine the elected individual(s) that will serve a three year term.

Academic Professional Grievance Committee: academic professionals nominate other academic professionals for these positions annually. The Committee on Committee and the Senate secretary then execute a vote of all APs to determine the elected individuals that will serve a three year term.

Senator Spotlight for November



Jane Humble

Important Dates

- Arizona Board of Regents Meeting November 20-21, 2014 at ASU
- Senate meeting #4
 December 1, 2014 at 3:00pm
- Session C Final Exams December 8-13, 2014
- Graduate/Undergraduate Commencement December 15, 2014

Current Projects/ Discussions

- University Senate breakfast with the Arizona Board of Regents (invite only)
- Revising ACD 402: Amorous Relationships
- Revising ACD 401: Nondiscrimination, Anti-Harassment & Non-Retaliation
- Reviewing ACD 506-05 & 506-07 regarding consecutive promotion reviews

2014 - 15 Campus Presidents

Downtown Polytechnic Tempe West Brenda Hosley
Kathleen Puckett
Cynthia Tompkins
Shari Collins

University Senate Secretary: Chris Kyselka

How are faculty members pursuing the ASU design aspirations?

Watch the Video!