## With Gratitude

to our ASU family



Nancy A. Gonzales, PhD
Executive Vice President and University Provost

**November 2022 University Senate Meeting** 

November 21, 2022

### The Boyer 2030 Commission

"The world is a very different place than it was in 1998, and that is why a new Boyer Commission was needed to recommend ways to guarantee excellence and equity in undergraduate education for today's college students."

- Barbara R. Snyder, co-chair of the Boyer 2030 Commission and President of the Association of American Universities

# The Equity-Excellence Imperative

A 2030 Blueprint for Undergraduate Education at U.S. Research Universities

The Boyer 2030 Commission
The Association for Undergraduate
Education at Research Universities (UERU)

#### **Congratulations**

#### 2023 Regents Professors



**Stacy Leeds**Foundation Professor
of Law and Leadership and
Dean

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law



**Huan Liu**Professor of Computer
Science and Engineering

School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence



Professor and Center Director, Biodesign Center for Mechanisms of Evolution

School of Life Sciences



Alexandra Navrotsky

Professor and Director, Navrotsky Eyring Center for the Materials of the Universe

School of Molecular Sciences and the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

# Congratulations to Nathaniel Ross, ASU's newest Rhodes Scholar.

Senior Nathaniel Ross has been awarded the coveted Rhodes Scholarship to pursue postgraduate studies at the University of Oxford. Ross is one of only 32 American Rhodes recipients for the 2023 application cycle and one of only three students representing public universities. He is the first ASU student awarded an American Rhodes Scholarship in more than 20 years.

At Oxford, Ross will study comparative social policy, after which he will attend law school and specialize in disability law. His long-term objective is to shape disability policy as an attorney-advisor for a national disability advocacy organization, federal agency or global non-governmental organization.



#### **Fulbright US Student Program**

#### **Ten-Year Production for Phd-Granting Institutions**



191 Recipients: 10 of 222 ahead of









#### **Goldwater Scholarship**

Ten-Year Production

18 Recipients: 8th of ABOR-designated peer institutions ahead of









#### **Udall Undergraduate Scholarship**

#### **Ten-Year Production**



12 Recipients: 2 of 355 ahead of









#### **Marshall Scholarship**

**Ten-Year Production** 

5 Recipients: 2nd of ABOR-designated peer institutions ahead of











#### **Rhodes Scholarship**

Ten-Year Production



2 Recipients: 5th of ABOR-designated peer institutions ahead of









#### **Truman Scholarship**

Ten-Year Production

4 Recipients: 4th of ABOR-designated peer institutions ahead of











As part of our path to becoming an Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI), ASU was named one of the nine inaugural recipients of the Seal of Excelencia in 2019 and was recertified in 2022. This recognition from Excelencia in Education commends ASU's commitment to accelerating Hispanic and Latino student success by showing intentionality and impact in service to students. ASU is proud of these distinctions, and will continue to create an environment that is conducive to Hispanic and Latino students' success at the university and beyond.

Thank you to all 2022-2023 Faculty and Academic Professional Senators and leadership for your service to ASU.

#### **2022-2023 Leadership**

**Penny Ann Dolin** Senate President and Chair of the UAC

Maureen McCoy President, Downtown Phoenix campus

Scotty Craig President, Polytechnic campus

LaDawn Haglund President, Tempe campus

Hala King President, West campus

Philip VanderMeer Secretary, Academic Assembly and University Senate Morteza Abbaszadegan Timiebi Aganaba Danielle Alfandre James Allen Seigyoung Auh Christofer Bang Juliet Barnett Valena Beety Rochus Boerner Sarah Bolmarcich Cynthia Bolton Eva Brumberger David Burel Josef Burgstaller Melissa Button Randall Cerveny Alvssa Chamberlain Oswald Chong Dylan Connor LaVerne DaCosta Chiara Dal Martello John Dallmus Manjira Datta Tyler DesRoches Duane DeVecchio Kristin Dybvig-Pawelko Damien Easson William Fabricius Katie Farrand Michelle Fehler Flham Fini

Susanna Fishel John Fricks Donald Frost David Garcia Vikas Gard Nisa Goksel Adela Grando Shauna Grant Anoop Grewal Michelle Hale Whitney Hansen Hilary Harp **Tobias Harper** Michael Hertzel Mick Hrncir Naomi Jackson Kelly Jackson Venita James Marco Janssen Lisa Kammerlocher Yun Kang Chad Kennedy Barbara Kinach Jeffrev Kinasburv Philip Klucsarits Kevin Langergraber Sangmi Lee Gilberto Lopez Carlyn Ludlow Mark Manfredo Heather Maring

Mary McMullen John Mitchell Shirley Montero-Quesada Barry Moon Tara Mospan Vladimiro Mujica Brent Nannenga Ted Na Qiong Nian Jason Nichols Rong Pan Marie-Louise Paulesc Timothy Peterson Antonios Printezis Quan Qing H.I.T. Quan Raena Quinlivan Trevor Reed Flena Rocchi Christopher Rojas Rosalind Sadleir Kristin Samuelson Francisco Sánchez Tina Sauber Lauren Savaglio Roseanne Schuster Adam Seagrave Mark Seasholes Renee Shanly Thomas Sharp

Daniel McIntosh

Lindsav Smith Lisa Smith Jack Spielberg Laurie Stoff Christopher Sulla Julie Sullivan-Detheridge Pamela Swan Jodi Swanson Dana Tait Michael Todd Konstantinos Tsakalis Johannah Uriri-Glover Aribidesi Usman Phil VanderMeer Claudia Villegas-Silva **Brad Vogus** Kostas Voutsas Anne Walton-Ramirez Xin Wei Sha Eric Welch Bruno Welfert Dave Wells Chad Westover Douglas Wilkey Nicholas Wise Yezhou Yang Alex Young

Christopher Sharp

November 2022 University Senate Meeting

# Thank you