

University Senate Dashboard











Polytechnic

Senate President Thomas Schildgen Arizona State University has a strong unicameral legislative body that spans four campuses, and provides a balanced system of shared governance. On an annual basis, the Senate requests academic departments to hold elections to replace outgoing Senator(s) from their unit. These elections are taking place across campus right now. The University Senate is the cornerstone of the shared governance process, and the acquisition of new talent and ideas is critical to our future success.

While change will undoubtedly be commonplace, we must continue to place ourselves at the forefront of activity, working proactively and not reactively on matters under our purview. When your unit calls for senatorial nominations, stand up and be recognized. If you are elected to serve in the Senate, bring your thoughts, ideas, and energy, so that it can be funneled into our collective desire to make ASU the top teaching and research university in the world.

MOTIONS

MINUTES

VIDEOS

University Senate History-Former Presidents

2013-14 Thomas Schildgen, College of Technology and Innovation 2012-13 Mark Lussier, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

2011-12 Joseph Carter, WP Carey School of Business
2010-11 Gary Grossman, School of Letters and Sciences
2009-10 Rojann Alpers, College of Nursing
2008-09 Phil VanderMeer, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2007-08 Bill Verdini, WP Carey School of Business
2006-07 Duane Roen, School of Letters and Sciences
To see the full history, click here

What is the Academic Assembly?

The term "Academic Assembly" is defined as the constituent body that is represented by the University Senate at Arizona State University.

The University Senate constitution outlines the requirements for membership into the Academic Assembly:

- 1. All faculty in a tenure-eligible or tenured position
- 2. All academic professionals with full-time multi-year, probationary, or continuing appointment positions
- 3. The president of the university and the provost of the university
- 4. All full-time faculty with fixed appointments (i.e., instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, principal lecturers, clinical faculty, research faculty, and professors of practice)
- Members of the Emeritus College

Click here for more detail.

Senator Spotlight for March Audrey Beardsley

Important Dates

- Senate meeting #7, March 31, 2014 at 3:00pm
- Senate meeting #8, April 28, 2014 at 3:00pm

Current Projects/ Discussions

- **Academic Assembly** elections
- Academic unit Senator elections
- Data archiving policies
- Merit pay increases
- Recognizing the importance of service at ASU
- Senate constitution and bylaw changes
- Reviewing ASU laboratory safety guidelines
- Non-Tenure-Track committee position paper development

Click Here to View Previous Senate Dashboards

2013 - 14 Campus Presidents

Downtown: Sandra Mayol-Kreiser **Thomas Schildgen** Polytechnic: Tempe: Chouki El Hamel **Barbara Guzzetti** West:

University Senate Secretary: Chris Kyselka

Representing World-Class Faculty Members and Academic Professionals

CLICK HERE TO SEE!