2012-2013 Annual Report to the ASU University Faculty Senate

Regarding the Non-Tenure Track Faculty working group

And the Non-Tenure Track Faculty Senate Standing Committee

After nearly two years of work, the Non-Tenure Track Faculty working group provided to the Personnel Committee its research, findings and recommendations. These were approved by the Personnel Committee and sent to the University Senate for its November 21, 2012 meeting, where the Report and recommendations were received and approved by the Senate.

One of the major recommendations of that report was that there be established a Non-Tenure Track Senate Standing Committee, to continue to provide a way for NTT and AP faculty to have their concerns placed before the Senate Leadership and the Senate as needed, and which would monitor the fulfillment of the recommendations of the Report.

During most of the Spring of 2012, the working group was inactive, awaiting the final formation of the new Standing Committee. In early 2013, the Committee on Committees, led by Chris Kyselka, sought and found a number of faculty members from the campuses who were willing to serve on the Standing Committee. David Forsyth of the Polytechnic Campus was asked to serve as the organizing Chair of the new Committee.

Mr. Forsyth tried to collect the members of the Committee for a meeting, and held the first meeting (which failed to reach a quorum of attendees) on 3/01/2013.

Presiding was David Forsyth, Faculty President, Poly Campus. Members contacted were:

Members: Allison Mullady Christopher Mehrens

* Craig Allen Jill Oliver
Lawrence Sidlik Rojann Alpers
Tara Lennon Tonya Penkrot

* Mirna Latouf Guest: Holly Huffman

(* indicates attendance)

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Forsyth at approximately 10:10 AM. Seeing that no quorum was available, the meeting proceeded to review the Report of the NTT Task Force previously presented to and approved by the Senate, and to discuss the recommendations that had been proposed in that report and other matters believed to be of concern to NTT faculty particularly.

It was the sense of those assembled that the Committee might usefully take up the following issues for the attention of the Senate:

 Paid professional leave, perhaps of one semester only, for longer-term NTT/AP Faculty members, consistent with the recommendation of the working group that: University and units provide formal process for NTT faculty professional development opportunities to include travel, recognition, awards, paid professional leave, and emeritus status.

- The possibility of establishing a "security of employment" status like the California system has for its NTT faculty, or at least a clear statement from University leadership regarding the reinstatement of multiple year contracts, consistent with the recommendation of the working group that the: administration of ASU reinstate the practice of multiplear appointments and rolling multiplear appointments.
- To determine by survey whether NTT faculty are receiving notices of non-reappointment or offer letters for teaching in a timely fashion.

•

- To inquire into the outcomes of the new, all-volunteer all online student evaluations of teachers, since it appears that evaluation participation and results have decreased markedly and could be used inappropriately to "justify" negative performance evaluations, since no other metrics seem to exist in many other units.
- To inquire as to whether it would be possible to place at least one NTT faculty on the Governance and Grievance committee and the CAPC committee, since both committees' work directly affects NTT Faculty, consistent with the recommendation fo the working group that the Senate: allow participation of NTT faculty in faculty governance decisions, especially in matters that affect them.

Mr. Forsyth committed to make firm contact with each of the people nominated to the committee who had not attended or contacted him regarding the meeting, and determine their interest in serving for next year. Upon further contact, the following have confirmed their participation in the Standing Committee for the next academic year: Christopher Mehrens, Craig Allen, Jill Oliver, Lawrence Sidlik, Rojann Alpers, Tara Lennon, Tonya Penkrot and Mirna Latouf. Allison Mullady has not responded to inquiries and is assumed not to be able to be involved. Mr. Forsyth has been advised that his teaching work at ASU will not be required in the fall of 2013, and his annual contract will not be renewed.

This report respectfully submitted this _____ day of April, 2013

By David L. Forsyth, Faculty President of Polytechnic Campus