Constitution and Bylaws


University governance requires communication and collaboration among faculty, staff, students, and administration. Collective wisdom improves decisions, promotes consensus, and builds trust. The faculty and academic professionals of Arizona State University, through this constitution, provide for the organization and procedures by which they may efficiently and effectively contribute to the governance of the university in support of its collective effort to promote the economic, social, cultural, and environmental health of the communities it serves. There are hereby created the Academic Assembly, the University Senate, and the University Academic Council (hereinafter abbreviated as the UAC).

University Senate Constitution

View the entire University Senate Constitution in the Academic Affairs Manual (ACD). 


Effective: 4/16/1949

Revised: 2/28/2022