Home / Committees / Online Education Task Force

Online Education Task Force 2017-2018

Task Force Goal: Maintain ASU’s leadership in online higher education through deepening faculty involvement and commitment.


The task force will determine the breadth of current online education usage across ASU; evaluate the spectrum of financial incentives for both the development and teaching of campus immersion online courses and digital immersion online courses; and, compile both faculty and administrative perspectives on the perceived strengths and weaknesses of online education at ASU.

Based on the above information, the task force will present best practices, available resources and make additional recommendations for further strengthening ASU’s online offerings, capabilities, and reach.


September 2017Task force members selected
October 2017Task force meets and begins working
Spring 2018/Fall 2018The task force has been extended into the fall semester of 2018.  The Senate anticipates a full report and recommendation by the end of this semester.  Click here to review the interim report

Membership roster and support personnel

Chairperson: James Moore, Clinical Associate Professor, W.P. Carey School of Business

  • Hugh Barnaby, Associate Professor, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
  • Patricia Boyd, Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Betsy Fahlman, Professor, Herberger School for the Design and Arts
  • Teresa Foulger, Associate Professor, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
  • Kate Fox, Associate Professor, College of Public Programs and Community Solutions
  • Caroline Harrison, Associate Instructional Professional, School of Sustainability
  • Eric Kostelich, President's Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Simin Levinson, Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Health Solutions
  • Penelope Moon, Clinical Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Claudia Villegas-Silva, Assistant Professor, New College School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  • Larry Olson, Associate Professor, Polytechnic School
Ex-officio membership