Research and Creative Activities Committee

Purpose and Functions

Purpose and function: to serve in an advisory capacity on matters concerning research and creative activities. The RCA committee serves as a review body for policies in the ASU research manual (RSP) and faculty/AP research related topics found in the ACD manual or other manuals at ASU, as well as topics/issues brought to it by the university provost¹, the Executive Vice President of ASU Knowledge Enterprise and/or the University Senate.  The RCA is responsible for reporting the committee actions received in annual reports from the Classified Research Committee and the Misconduct in Research Committee, as well as outcomes and recommendations to the Senate for any issues that have been taken on as actions items.

Membership Guidelines

  • Appointed members: the committee shall be composed of nine members from the Academic Assembly appointed by the chair of the University Academic Council, in consultation with ASU Knowledge Enterprise and the Senate Committee on Committees, to staggered three-year terms, with two additional members appointed by the Executive Vice President of ASU Knowledge Enterprise. 
  • Ex officio: the Executive Vice President of ASU Knowledge Enterprise and the University Senate President shall serve as ex officio nonvoting members.
  • Terms: each appointed voting member shall serve staggered three-year terms.  


Roster 2023-2024


  • Michael Todd, Edson College of Nursing and Health Innovation, Downtown Phoenix campus 2024


Members from the ASU Knowledge Enterprise:

Ex officio membership: