University Senate Personnel Committee

Purpose and functions

To serve in a policy-forming and advising capacity in the study, clarification, and formulation of policies and procedures affecting faculty and academic professionals as specified in the constitution, including but not limited to:

  • University programs for faculty development in research and training
  • Faculty promotion and tenure review policies and practices
  • Faculty employment policies and practices including hiring and affirmative action
  • Salary and compensation review policies
  • Grievance policy and procedures
  • Sabbatical or other leaves of absence
  • Retirement and health care policies.

Membership Guidelines

  • Elected: 12 senators, including representation from each of the campuses and one additional member that must be an academic professional with full-time multi-year, probationary or continuing appointment status. The committee should have representation from tenure/tenure eligible as well as non-tenure eligible faculty
  • Ex officio nonvoting members: the university president, the provost of the university, and the chair of UAC or their designee.
  • The term of the elected members shall be two years. One-half of the elected members shall be replaced each year.

Roster 2023-2024


  • Jodi Swanson, Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics, Tempe campus, 2025


Ex officio non-voting members:

  • Michael M. Crow, University President
  • Nancy Gonzales, Executive Vice President and University Provost
  • Greg Stone, Chair of the UAC