Home / Committees / Governance Grievance Committee

Governance Grievance Committee

Purpose and Functions

The committee shall follow the policies and procedures for grievances established in ASU policy ACD 509–02, “Grievance Policy for Faculty.
The committee shall hear cases assigned to it by the Clearinghouse Committee. These cases are normally cases other than those involving academic freedom and tenure or discrimination. Such cases include grievances involving salary inequities, teaching assignment, access to equipment, and any unfair treatment of faculty by other faculty or administrators.

Membership Guidelines

Twelve members: six from the Tempe campus and two each from the Downtown campus, the Polytechnic campus and the West campus. Members shall be elected by the Academic Assembly from among tenured professors and tenured associate professors for a period of three years. Assembly members may vote only for those nominees for their campus. One-third of the elected members shall be replaced each year. Members may not hold administrative positions of department chair or higher.

Roster 2021-2022


Ex officio:

  • President of the University Senate


To officially submit a grievance, please go to Filing a Grievance.